x
LATEST ARTICLE Sustainability simplified: Carbon footprinting for beginners Read Article

Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration Project, Ouganda

Le Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration Project est un projet de boisement mené dans l'ouest de l'Ouganda qui vise à protéger l'habitat restant des chimpanzés de Bulindi et à soutenir les ménages des villages locaux.

Informations générales sur le projet

Emplacement
uganda Districts de Hoima et Masindi, ouest de l'Ouganda
Objectif du projet
Le projet vise à planter 4,5 millions d'arbres au cours des six prochaines années.
Membres de l'équipe
matt maclennan_profile picture_orange

Dr Matt McLennan
Directeur de projets en Ouganda

moses ssemahunge_profile pic_orange

Dr Ssemahunge Moses
Directeur de projets en Ouganda

Description du projet

Le Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration Project est un projet de boisement et de reboisement mené dans l'ouest de l'Ouganda qui vise à protéger l'habitat restant des chimpanzés de Bulindi, à restaurer la nature et à soutenir les ménages des villages locaux. Le projet a été créé en réponse aux besoins urgents de conservation dans les districts de Hoima et Masindi, où plus de 300 chimpanzés sauvages survivent dans des fragments de forêt en diminution sur des terres agricoles. Le projet est mis en œuvre en collaboration avec le Bulindi Chimpanzee & Community Project, dirigé par le Dr Matt McLennan.

Identification du projet

GOLD STANDARD GS 12226

E_SDG_Icons-01
E_SDG_Icons-04
E_SDG_Icons-06
E_SDG_Icons-08
sdg_13
E_SDG_Icons-14
E_SDG_Icons-15
E_SDG_Icons-17
1

Avantages économiques pour les communautés locales

L'approche du projet consiste à travailler avec les communautés locales et les ménages pour trouver des solutions durables qui bénéficieront à la fois aux chimpanzés et à la population. Le projet a un impact positif sur les communautés locales en les aidant à conserver la forêt. Le projet soutient les ménages locaux dans des zones clés en leur proposant des formations, en investissant dans l'éducation de leurs enfants via un programme de parrainage scolaire et en soutenant de petits projets familiaux, notamment la construction de maisons et la culture de rente du café. De plus, le projet construit des forages villageois, permettant aux villageois d'avoir accès à de l'eau potable. Le projet fournit également aux ménages des poêles et des plants économes en énergie pour les boisés, ce qui réduit la pression sur les forêts naturelles restantes.

Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration_bullet point 1-min
2

Impact environnemental grâce à la restauration

Le projet a un impact positif sur l’environnement et les chimpanzés grâce à des plantations d’enrichissement forestier qui reconstituent la forêt avec des aliments naturels pour les chimpanzés afin de réduire les conflits entre les humains et les chimpanzés (en réduisant les « pillages » sur les cultures par les grands singes). Cela augmente également l'habitat naturel des chimpanzés et d'autres animaux sauvages locaux, contribuant ainsi à créer un écosystème sain.

Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration_bullet point 2-min
3

Chronologie du projet

L'étude de faisabilité a été finalisée au deuxième trimestre 2022, après quoi le projet a démarré. La première saison de plantation a eu lieu en 2023. Le projet a une durée de vie de 41 ans et vise à reboiser la zone sur une période de six ans.

Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration_bullet point 3-min

Le pipeline du Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration Project

  • Nouveaux projets
  • Étude de faisabilité
  • Conception du projet
  • Validation du projet
  • Implementation du projet
  • Verification périodique
  • Projet terminé

L'impact du projet

Le projet favorise une relation symbiotique entre les communautés, les chimpanzés et l'environnement. En s'engageant auprès des ménages, elle préserve la forêt et génère de merveilleux avantages sociaux. Les initiatives éducatives, les projets à petite échelle et les forages villageois responsabilisent les communautés locales en leur fournissant un accès à l'eau potable.

Le projet garantit également la disponibilité de fourneaux économes en énergie et promeut des pratiques durables, qui améliorent considérablement le bien-être social et économique des résidents. De plus, grâce à la plantation d’enrichissement des forêts et au boisement, nous sommes en mesure de restaurer les aliments naturels pour les chimpanzés et d’atténuer efficacement les conflits entre les humains et les chimpanzés.

 

 Notre projet sur Planet Earth III

Découvrez l'histoire des chimpanzés de Bulindi en Ouganda, racontée par Sir David Attenborough. Dans cet épisode, la réalisatrice Abigail Lees, visionnaire de l'unité d'histoire naturelle de la BBC, capture de manière complexe les luttes quotidiennes de ces chimpanzés vivant à proximité des humains, ouvrant la voie à une initiative de transformation : le projet de restauration de l'habitat des chimpanzés de Bulindi.

 

En savoir plus ici

UNSustainableDevelopmentGoals_Brand-01
img_b0b0e4e4b6218692b840f0254ab2e8e5-VCS-Logo-Verra-Color PNG 1
Types d'arbres
Maesopsis eminii
Prunus africana
Cordia africana
Albizia coriaria
Markhamia lutea
Khaya senegalensis
Coffea canephora
Irvingia gabonensis (mango)
Macadamia integrifoli (macadamia)

Notre liste actuelle d'espèces comprend des arbres fruitiers, des arbres à noix et des arbres d'ombrage, avec une diversité d'espèces indigènes.

Où se situe le projet

uganda Districts de Hoima et Masindi, ouest de l'Ouganda

À propos de cette région

Le projet est situé dans les districts de Hoima et Masindi, à l'ouest de l'Ouganda. Cette zone a une valeur de conservation substantielle car il s’agit d’un couloir reliant les principales populations de chimpanzés dans deux grandes zones protégées, les forêts de Budongo et de Bugoma, abritant chacune plus de 500 chimpanzés. Cependant, les petites forêts du corridor appartiennent aux ménages des villages locaux et ne bénéficient d'aucune protection formelle. Depuis les années 1990, ces forêts ont été largement exploitées et converties en terres agricoles. La perte d’habitat a conduit à une escalade des conflits entre les villageois et les chimpanzés résidents, menaçant la survie de cette population vitale de grands singes.

Mises à jour sur le Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration Project

Lisez et découvrez les dernières mises à jour de l’équipe de direction locale.

Drawing upon the vibrant and transformative journey of the Ethiopia Cookstoves Project, our latest u..

We are thrilled to share the latest developments in our monumental journey towards ecological restor..

At DGB Group, we're thrilled to announce the latest strides in our pioneering initiative, the Kenya

Ce que nous réaliserons avec ce projet

4,5M

d'arbres seront plantés

4,3M

de tonnes de CO₂ à capter

8 290

hectares à reboiser

En savoir plus dans notre brochure du projet

Rejoignez-nous pour assister à l'incroyable transformation alors que nous insufflons une nouvelle vie à des terres autrefois stériles. Ensemble, nous pouvons avoir un impact durable et laisser un héritage de gestion environnementale aux générations futures.

EN PIN Uganda AR_mock up

Processus d'investissement de projet

orange circle_1

Évaluez votre empreinte environnementale

La première étape consiste à mesurer et comprendre l’impact de votre entreprise et à vous engager en faveur de la responsabilité environnementale. Ce faisant, les entreprises profitent à la planète et acquièrent un avantage concurrentiel. Nous accordons la priorité à la restauration de la nature, offrant aux entreprises la voie vers un avenir plus vert. Avec notre calculateur d’empreinte carbone, vous pouvez obtenir des informations claires sur l’impact environnemental de votre entreprise.

orange circle_2

Investissez dans des solutions environnementales

Une fois que vous avez mesuré votre impact, l'étape suivante consiste à compenser votre empreinte carbone et à développer des stratégies qui tirent parti des solutions basées sur la nature. La compensation carbone consiste à investir dans un impact environnemental positif. Notre approche basée sur la nature garantit que vous contribuez à des résultats tangibles et positifs pour la nature, qui correspondent à vos valeurs et à votre vision, contribuant ainsi à un monde plus durable.

orange circle_3

Rapport sur votre impact positif sur la nature

Après avoir compensé votre empreinte carbone, vous pouvez célébrer votre attitude positive envers la nature. Vous pouvez communiquer votre impact positif aux parties prenantes. DGB peut vous aider dans votre reporting ESG ainsi que dans vos stratégies de communication d’entreprise. Il ne s’agit pas seulement de responsabilité et de transparence ; c'est l'occasion d'inspirer les autres et de mettre en valeur les avantages tangibles de l'investissement dans la conservation de la nature.

Article 6 de l'Accord de Paris

Dans le contexte des marchés internationaux du carbone et de l’Accord de Paris, l’Ouganda n’a actuellement pas finalisé de législation nationale correspondant au cadre international de l’article 6. L'Ouganda est en train de formuler son approche et sa structure pour l'article 6 et ses implications plus larges.


Comment pouvons-nous vous aider?

Au cœur de notre mission se trouvent la préservation de la nature et la promotion de la biodiversité. DGB Group travaille activement à la restauration de la nature. Rejoignez-nous pour créer un avenir plus vert grâce à des projets impactants basés sur la nature. Contactez-nous pour en savoir plus sur notre travail.

x
LATEST ARTICLE Our journey to a greener future: DGB Group's strategic expansion into the French market Read Article

Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration Project, Uganda

The Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration Project is an afforestation project in western Uganda that aims to protect the remaining habitat of the Bulindi chimpanzees and support local village households.

Project general info

Location
uganda Hoima and Masindi Districts, western Uganda
Project goal
The project aims to plant 4.5 million trees over the next six years.
Team members
matt maclennan_profile picture_orange

Dr Matt McLennan
Project Director Uganda

moses ssemahunge_profile pic_orange

Dr Ssemahunge Moses
Senior Carbon Project Manager

Project description

The Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration Project is an afforestation and reforestation project in western Uganda that aims to protect the remaining habitat of the Bulindi chimpanzees, restore nature, and support local village households. The project was established in response to the urgent conservation needs in the Hoima and Masindi districts, where over 300 wild chimpanzees survive in shrinking forest fragments on agricultural land. The project is implemented together with the Bulindi Chimpanzee & Community Project, led by Dr Matt McLennan.

Project ID

GOLD STANDARD GS 12226

E_SDG_Icons-01
E_SDG_Icons-04
E_SDG_Icons-06
E_SDG_Icons-08
sdg_13
E_SDG_Icons-14
E_SDG_Icons-15
E_SDG_Icons-17
1

Economic benefits for local communities

The project's approach is to work with local communities and households to find sustainable solutions that will benefit both the chimpanzees and the people. The project has a positive impact on local communities by helping them conserve the forest. The project supports local households in key areas by providing training, investing in their children's education via a school sponsorship scheme, and supporting small household projects, including house construction and coffee cash-cropping. Additionally, the project constructs village boreholes, providing villagers with access to clean water. The project also provides households with energy-efficient stoves and seedlings for woodlots, which reduce pressure on remaining natural forests. 

Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration_bullet point 1-min
2

Environmental impact through restoration

The project positively impacts the environment and chimpanzees through forest enrichment planting that replenishes the forest with natural foods for chimpanzees to reduce human-chimpanzee conflict (by reducing crop ‘raiding’ by the great apes). This also increases the natural habitat of the chimpanzees and other local wildlife, contributing to creating a healthy ecosystem.

Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration_bullet point 2-min
3

Project timeline

The feasibility study was finalised in Q2 2022, after which the project commenced. The first planting season was in 2023. The project has a lifetime of 41 years and aims to reforest the area over a six-year period.

Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration_bullet point 3-min

The Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration Project pipeline

  • New projects
  • Feasibility study
  • Project design
  • Project validation
  • Project implementation
  • Periodic verification
  • Project completion

The project's impact

The project fosters a symbiotic relationship between communities, chimpanzees, and the environment. By engaging with households, it conserves the forest and brings about wonderful social benefits. Education initiatives, small-scale projects, and village boreholes empower local communities by providing them with access to clean water.

 

The project also ensures that energy-efficient stoves are available and promotes sustainable practices, which greatly enhance the social and economic wellbeing of residents. Moreover, through forest enrichment planting and afforestation, we are able to restore natural foods for chimpanzees and effectively mitigate human-chimpanzee conflict.

 

  See our project feature on Planet Earth III

Explore the story of the Bulindi chimpanzees in Uganda, narrated by the famous Sir David Attenborough. In this episode, Director Abigail Lees, a visionary at the BBC Natural History Unit, intricately captures the daily struggles of these chimps living in close proximity to humans, setting the stage for a transformative initiative—the Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration Project.

 

Read more about it here

UNSustainableDevelopmentGoals_Brand-01
img_b0b0e4e4b6218692b840f0254ab2e8e5-VCS-Logo-Verra-Color PNG 1
Types of trees
Maesopsis eminii
Prunus africana
Cordia africana
Albizia coriaria
Markhamia lutea
Khaya senegalensis
Coffea canephora (coffee)
Irvingia gabonensis (mango)
Macadamia integrifoli (macadamia)

Our current list of species includes fruit trees, nut trees, and shade trees, with a diversity of indigenous species.

Where the project is located

uganda Kenya Hoima and Masindi Districts, western Uganda

About this region

The project is located in the Hoima and Masindi districts of western Uganda. This area has substantial conservation value as it’s a corridor linking major chimpanzee populations in two large protected areas, the Budongo and Bugoma forests, each home to more than 500 chimpanzees. However, the small corridor forests are owned by local village households and have no formal protection. Since the 1990s, these forests have been extensively logged and converted to farmland. Habitat loss has led to escalating levels of conflict between villagers and resident chimpanzees, threatening the survival of this vital population of great apes.

Bulindi Chimpanzee Habitat Restoration Project diaries

Read and learn about the latest updates from the local management team.

In our continuous journey towards a more sustainable and healthier planet, we're thrilled to share t..

Our planet provides a valuable resource vital to all life—forests. Forests, and the trees that form ..

In the heart of Kenya, the Hongera Reforestation Project and the Hongera Energy Efficient Cookstoves..

What we will achieve with this project

4.5M

trees being planted

4.3M

tonnes CO₂ to be captured

8,290

hectares to be reforested

Find out more in the project booklet

Join us to witness the incredible transformation as we breathe new life into once barren lands. Together, we can make a lasting impact and leave a legacy of environmental stewardship for future generations.

EN PIN Uganda AR_mock up

Project investment process

orange circle_1

Assess your environmental footprint

The first step is to measure and understand the impact of your business and commit to environmental responsibility. By doing so, businesses benefit the planet and gain a competitive edge. We prioritise nature restoration, offering businesses a path to a greener future. With our carbon footprint calculator, you can get clarity on your business’ environmental impact.

orange circle_2

Invest in environmental solutions

Once you've measured your impact, the next step is to offset your carbon footprint and develop strategies that leverage nature-based solutions. Carbon offsetting is about investing in positive environmental impact. Our nature-based approach ensures you contribute to tangible, nature-positive outcomes that align with your values and vision, contributing to a more sustainable world.

orange circle_3

Report on your nature-positive impact

After you have offset your carbon footprint, you can celebrate being nature positive. You can communicate your positive impact to stakeholders. DGB can help you with your ESG reporting as well as corporate communication strategies. This isn't just about accountability and transparency; it's an opportunity to inspire others and showcase the tangible benefits of investing in nature conservation.

Article 6 of the Paris Agreement

In the context of international carbon markets and the Paris Agreement, Uganda currently does not have finalised national legislation corresponding with the internationally established Article 6 framework. Uganda is formulating its approach and structure for Article 6 and its broader implications.


How can we help you?

At the core of our mission lies the preservation of nature and the fostering of biodiversity. DGB Group is actively working to restore nature. Join us in creating a greener future through impactful nature-based projects. Reach out to us to learn more about our work.